Vehicular Assult

Vehicular Assault is another form of felony DUI in Colorado. If the state alleges that you seriously injured another person from an accident you caused, and you were intoxicated, you will be arrested for vehicular assault.

Colorado Revised Statute section 18-3-205 creates a felony if a motorist drives a vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or in a reckless manner which causes another to suffer serious injury.

Vehicular Assault – Class 4 Felony: The defendant unlawfully drove or operated a motor vehicle in Colorado while under the influence by alcohol, or drugs, or both alcohol and drugs, and the conduct was the proximate cause of serious bodily injury to the alleged victim, in violation of C.R.S. 18-1-305(1)(b).

Sentencing Range for Vehicular Assault – Class 4 Felony: 2-6 years in prison is the presumptive range; up to 12 years if a judge finds extraordinary aggravating circumstances.

Vehicular Assault – Class 5 Felony: The defendant unlawfully drove or operated a motor vehicle in Colorado in a reckless manner, and the conduct was the proximate cause of serious bodily injury to the alleged victim, in violation of C.R.S. 18-1-305(1)(a).

Sentencing Range for Vehicular Assault – Class 5 Felony: 1-3 years in prison is the presumptive range; up to 6 years if a judge finds extraordinary aggravating circumstances.

Depending on the circumstances of the case, there may be defenses to aleive you of the charges or mitigate the case to a lesser offense with severely reduced penalties. If there was another potential cause for the accident, such as the negligence of another party, you may not be at fault. In addition, all areas of the DUI investigation must be challenged in light of constitutional violations that may have occurred.

If you have been arrested and have a felony DUI case pending in Colorado, call the attorneys at Tiftickjian Law Firm today. We have successfully defended people in this situation before and can work to get you the best results possible in your case.